seitan

In my vegetarian cookbook I ran across a recipe using “seitan,” which was new to me. Looks like I will be trying to make this soon. They say it is simple.
how to make seitan

I wasn’t sure exactly what gluten is, but here is how to make it.

from wikipedia:

Gluten (from Latin gluten “glue”) is a protein composite which appears in foods processed from wheat and related species including barley and rye. It gives elasticity to dough, helping it to rise and to keep its shape, and often giving the final product a chewy texture.

the whole article

Ecuador Quinoa Recipe

Many people are intolerant of gluten. I suspect I am one of them. I try not to eat bread, but mostly lots of fresh fruits and veggies and beans and try to follow the anti-cancer diet – eating more raw than cooked. Bread isn’t on the list and I feel better when I avoid it completely. Found this blog of the glutenfreegirl. She wrote at least one book. Very good info.

So, maybe I will or won’t make seitan. I probably will at least once just for the experience.

list of gluten free foods – quite a list to chose from – makes life more interesting – more variety is the spice of life.

10 essential items for a gluten free pantry

Leave a Reply

