Peruana Beans

These beans originated from Mexico. I saw some for sale in the store this morning and bought them. Found this recipe from spillingthebeans.com and changed it to my liking. She had changed it to her liking also.

Peruana Bean concoction


½ lb. peruano beans
6 c. water
½ lb. cubed boiling potatoes1 bayleaf
1 t. ground cumin
1 t. oregano
1 ½ t. salt
1 medium onion, roughly chopped
1 medium bell pepper, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic
2 T. oil

Cook beans for 30 minutes, then add the remaining ingredients and cook for another 30 minutes. I’ll add 1 c. canned pumpkin since I have some already opened.

This is the finished soup, except for the canned pumpkin. I decided to put this in a hay box to keep it warm until we eat later today. more on hay box cookers

Using my method of blankets in a bin works very well.

Here’s my process:

la la la la la – trying to use up more space so this picture will go down lower and center on the middle of the page : ) : ) : )

The canned pumpkin is added in the following picture.

I walked the dog and myself in a park this morning early then went to the grocery to store so I could make the following dish for tonight. Needed some broccoli, parsley and a couple tomatoes. I also bought some celery, lettuce, salmon, the peruana beans and chow mein noodles. I will make this manana because it doesn’t really go with potatoes and beans : )
Click on the recipe to see larger version.

These 2 pictures are from Readers Digest Great Recipes for Good Health – a wonderful thrift store find : )

Leave a Reply

