green smoothies and clean and dirty produce

I’m am turning over a new leaf in our kitchen. Tonight I learned about green smoothies (recipe follows) from a blog featured on wordpress. I went to the rawfood site and they have lots of info there, how the chimp will take a green leaf to hold his fruit and eat them together. I don’t really want to buy so much organic, although it is more and more available these days. I want to grow more greens – that would be ideal. I do love to use Basic H. I still have 1/2 gallon left of the blue and they’ve changed to clear colored a few years ago I found out. I’m thinking soaking it in Basic H solution would get most the dirt, grime, germs and pesticides off, as this stuff is on the surface. The good 15 are foods with no need to buy organic. The bad 12 would be better bought organic.

from Healthdiaries.com

Banana Strawberry Collard Green Smoothie Recipe

1 banana
1 c. water
1 c. strawberries
4 c. collard greens

Blend the banana and water. Add the strawberries and blend. Add the collards and blend until smooth.

the good 15: (from http://www.care2.com)
1. Onions 2. Avocados 3. Sweet corn 4. Pineapples 5. Mango
6. Sweet peas 7. Asparagus 8. Kiwi fruit 9. Cabbage 10. Eggplant
11. Cantaloupe 12. Watermelon 13. Grapefruit 14. Sweet potatoes
15. Sweet onions

the bad 12:
1. Celery 2. Peaches 3. Strawberries 4. Apples 5. Domestic blueberries
6. Nectarines 7. Sweet bell peppers 8. Spinach, kale and collard greens
9. Cherries 10. Potatoes 11. Imported grapes 12. Lettuce

I have been using Basic H from Shaklee for about 32 years now. I usually spray or soak veggies and fruit with it. I’m wondering if I need to buy organic if I do this instead.

Fruits and Vegetables: Use ¼ teaspoon to pint of water. Wash and rinse. It removes residues of poisonous sprays and grime of handling in transportation. Also removes grit from leafy vegetables.

many other uses for Basic H

Leave a Reply

