more companion planting – raspberries

Plant garlic with raspberries
paula’sherbsandplantscompanion planting

from GardenWeb:

I’d like to plant some edibles or flowers with my berries as a groundcover. Any idea ? Thanks in advance.

I’m in my second year of a garden experiment with raspberries. I planted strawberries at the base of mine. Worked fine last year, and so far this year things look okay.

I have bulbs at the base of mine. Tulips and hyacinths for spring (the raspberry foliage comes out in time to hide the spent blooms) and crocomia for summer. The grassy foliage looks quite pretty poking out and they like some shade.

Leave a Reply

