Bolivian Vegan Food

Friday June 18 – I’m am enjoying GlobalTable – exciting times – learning about all these countries – I love it. Glancing at this blog gave me a good idea – juice carrots. A comment on the blog said they could literally see better after drinking the freshly made carrot juice. I hope to find a juicy recipe to share on Wednesday – will give me plenty of time to learn about food in Bolivia.

We have missionary friends who live in Sucre, Bolivia. Roberto’s family fled Poland in the ’40s because of being Jewish and went to Argentina. Later, when Roberto was around 12 they moved to the U.S. In his 20s he went to Bolivia as a missionary and married a girl from there. They have 3 children and a wonderful children’s outreach. His facebook page

Quinoa is widely eaten in Bolivia. It is high in protein and is gluten-free. I personally cook it and then cook some oatmeal in it with cinnamon and raisins for breakfast.

Here are some recipes using quinoa. It is not pronounced as it sounds. When I spoke of it to a friend a few years ago, I said, “qui-no-ah.” She said, “No, it sounds like “keen-wah.” On google I found this:

We too have made the perfectly reasonable mistake of asking for “kwuh-NO-uh” and “KWIN-wah”. But the correct pronunciation of this “pseudocereal” is “KEEN-wah”.

I am not a vegetarian or a vegan, but I don’t eat a whole lot of meat or dairy. I do love plain yogurt. I’ve been using the O2 diet for a guideline (see my earlier posts on this blog). I love counting ORAC points and making sure I am eating high-scoring foods that will irradicate those free radicals.

I don’t usually ramble so much on my blog entries, but the Global Table lady said to give more information, so I don’t mind doing so.

My recipe for Bolivia will probably be one with quinoa – until later.

Now, speaking of pronunciation, the word, “vegan,” is nothing like I thought. It is pronounced vee-gan, with a hard “g.” I thought it was vegan (like vegetarian but with a “n” instead of “tarian.”) That would make the most sense. Vee-gan sounds really strange, but oh well.

I believe I will make the following recipe. I try to include lots of beans because they are very very very high on the ORAC point system.

Bolivian Quinoa Salad

1 cup red kidney beans or black beans, cooked
1 cup quinoa
2 corn on the cob, kernels removed
400 g pumpkin, cubed (or 1 cup)
1 large red capsicum, diced
1 large tomato, diced
1 red onion, diced
1 bunch coriander, chopped
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 teaspoon ground cumin
sea salt
black pepper
1 lemon,

1. Take a pot, combine quinoa, pumpkin, red kidney beans and corn kernels.
2. Boil until the quinoa is cooked and the pumpkin is soft (but not mushy).
3. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a fry pan, and combine the cumin, Onion and capsicum and fry until fragrant.
4. Add the Onion mixture to the quinoa mixture, season with salt, pepper and add the lemon juice.
5. Stir to combine, and serve.

Here’s my recipe to take to the grocery store. I have most the ingredients. Capsicum is simply sweet pepper, which I already have frozen in the ‘fridge. I have canned pumpkin, which I may use instead, but I’ll look for a real pumpkin, or maybe substitute squash. I will also need to buy a red onion and a tomato. I have tomato plants growing, but none ready yet. I will also need to buy a bunch of coriander, which is the same as cilantro.

I learned so much while home schooling our 2 children. Bolivia was always an interesting country, especially La Paz (the peace), being the highest capital city in the world. See this blog. and History of La Paz

I usually only use my own photos, but I got this from the web and used picnik on it.

Grocery store trip this first day of summer. First I stopped and got my hair trimmed, but not worthy of a picture.

Okay, it’s finished and it’s yummy! The recipe didn’t mention what to do with the cilantro and tomato, so I added it raw before serving.
This was sure fun. I wonder what the next country is. I checked on GlobalTable and it is Bosnia and Herzegovina (Sarajevo)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

